Ordinary ~ Giveaway

I’m excited to be one of the many Silver Dagger Book Tour hosts to be presenting ORGINARY by Starr Z. Davies
Ordinary (Ordinary Series Book 1) by Starr Z. Davies
Genre: YA Sci-Fi Dystopian

Fans of Powerless, The Testing, Hunger Games and the Maze Runner will crave this world of iniquitous secrets, intrigue, and desire to find a place in society.

Divinic. Somatic. Psionic. Naturalist. Who will you be?

Having a superpower is ordinary. Your Power determines your job, social class, and future success.

But Ugene doesn’t have a Power. The only thing special about him is that he isn’t special at all. Ugene is Powerless.

So when the most prominent biomedical research company in the city offers Ugene a solution, he jumps at the possibility to be ordinary. All he has to do is agree to allow them to use him in their research. But the longer he stays at the research facility, the more he realizes something isn’t right.

Friendships are forged. Trust is broken built and broken. And everything Ugene thought he understood and believed is called into question.

Who can Ugene trust in his search for answers? What is he willing to sacrifice for Powers?

Goodreads * Amazon

STARR Z. DAVIES is a Midwesterner at heart, and lives in Wisconsin with her husband and kids. From a young age, Starr has been obsessed with superheroes like Batman and Captain America, which inspired her novel, ORDINARY. If Starr had a superpower, she would be an Empath, because she is an emotional sponge and easily relates to how others feel.

While pursuing a degree in Creative Writing from the University of Wisconsin, Starr gained a reputation as the “Character Assassin” because she has a habit of utterly destroying her characters both emotionally and physically.

In her free time, Starr loves watching Doctor Who or anything with superheroes, reading books (duh!), writing about her favorite fantasy stories (Song of Ice and Fire, Mistborn, The Wheel of Time), and staring out the window as she dreams up more stories. Oh, and sometimes she steps out the door.

Website* Facebook* Twitter* Instagram* Bookbub* Amazon* Goodreads

Writing is in My Bones!

Writing is in my bones. I think I wrote my first short story when I was in fourth grade. In middle school I spent a lot of time honing my creative skills by building unusual scenarios in my head and sharing them with others. By high school, I was really into screenwriting—because I love movies—and I carried at least two or three notebooks around with me at all times. Each notebook was a different screenplay. The stories were all garbage, but it really spurred me on. In my “new adult” years, I wrote a couple of really dumb romance books. I’m not sure why. I don’t even like reading romance. The books were completely unsatisfying and I quickly scrapped them.

When Lord of the Rings came to the big screen, it changed my life forever. I knew I wanted ot write something different at that time, but I wasn’t sure which direction to go. Then I watched Lord of the Rings and read Dragonlance and it was like a lightbulb went on. Now, if I read a book, it needs to have some sort of fantastic element. When I write, it has to bend or break the rules of reality in some way. I can’t NOT write anymore. It’s a form of escapism and is as much a part of me as my bones, and as necessary as air. I get bored when I’m not writing!

Switching Perspectives: Writing the Opposite Sex

I’ve read books where male writers create needy, clingy, or whiney female characters and it drives me absolutely crazy. I also have read books by female writers create ultra-masculine, hero-complex, too hot for school male characters, and I also can’t stand them. Personally, I feel like I have a small bit of an advantage. My stepson is older now, and I’ve been around him, watched him interact with others and venture out into the world. I’ve listened to him talk about becoming an adult, girls, and politics in a way that is definitely very much indicative of guys his age. When I write, I find that channeling some of his voice helps me create stronger male characters.

Ugene is certainly no exception. He starts off a bit weak and whiny (for very specific reasons), but that changes quickly. I’ve been told (by male beta readers) that I do a good job depicting male emotion and connection, and that I really know how to nail those awkward moments. Honestly, I find it easier to write male characters than female characters.

Would you like a chance to win a $20 Amazon gift card? Follow the tour HERE for special content and a giveaway!

2 thoughts on “Ordinary ~ Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s